//
you're reading...
Services

Songs of Farewell: An End of Term Parry Party

Photograph by Alexa Kidd May

Photograph by Alexa Kidd May

Sunday 13th July is the final service before All Saints Fulham Choir take a well earned break for summer.

At 6pm, Choral Evensong will be a feast of Parry music. Director of Music Jonathan Wikeley has programmed three pieces by English composer Sir Charles Hubert Hastings Parry.

The introit will be I Know My Soul Hath Power to Know All Things which is the second song in a collection of music called Songs of Farewell.

There are six songs in the collection which were written during World War 1 and published in 1918. Parry died soon after they were published in the Spanish flu outbreak, and just before the end of the war.

For I Know My Soul Hath Power to Know All Things Parry used the final two verses of a 16th century poem Nosce Teipsum (also known as The Vanity of Human Learning) by English poet Sir John Davies.

I know my soul hath power to know all things,
Yet she is blind and ignorant in all:
I know I’m one of Nature’s little kings,
Yet to the least and vilest things am thrall.

I know my life’s a pain and but a span;
I know my sense is mock’d in ev’rything;
And, to conclude, I know myself a Man,
Which is a proud and yet a wretched thing.

About All Saints Fulham Choir

The All Saints Fulham Church is the home of three choirs. A traditional Parish Choir who sing wide-ranging repertoire which spans nine centuries and tours regularly at home and abroad; a Gospel Choir who sing a mixture of contemporary and traditional gospel styles, and a junior choir for children from Year 3 upwards.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

All Saints Fulham Tweets

