//
you're reading...
Services

Choral Evensong: O God Incline Thine Ear

Team All Saints Choir 2 The Choir will be singing Choral Evensong at 6pm on Sunday 23 June at All Saints Fulham. The anthem during the service will be Hear My Prayer by Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847).

He composed this anthem in 1844, the piece is dedicated to his friend Gottfried Taubert. It was first performed in London in 1845 with composer and organist Ann Mounsey accompanying the performance.

The words are adapted from Psalm 55 by William Bartholomew, Mendelssohn’s regular translator, who later translated Elijah into English. Bartholomew sent Mendelssohn the lyrics and only later did Mendelssohn translate these words into German. The Choir will sing the English version.

Hear my prayer, O God, incline Thine ear!
Thyself from my petition do not hide!
Take heed to me! Hear how in prayer I mourn to Thee!
Without Thee all is dark, I have no guide.

The enemy shouteth, The godless come fast!
Iniquity, hatred upon me they cast!
The wicked oppress me, Ah, where shall I fly?
Perplexed and bewildered, O God, hear my cry!

My heart is sorely pained within my breast,
My soul with deathly terror is oppressed,
Trembling and fearfulness upon me fall,
With horror overhelmed, Lord, hear me call!

O for the wings of a dove!
Far away would I rove!
In the wilderness build me a nest,
And remain there for ever at rest.


A 1927 recording featuring choirboy Ernest Lough and the Choir of Temple Church became HMV’s first million-selling classical record. For us, our soprano choral scholar, Sinead O’Kelly, will sing the dramatic solos throughout the piece.


The video features the choir of Eton College singing Hear my Prayer.

Click this link to hear the anthem sung in German Hör mein Bitten by the Choir of St John’s College.

About All Saints Fulham Choir

The All Saints Fulham Church is the home of three choirs. A traditional Parish Choir who sing wide-ranging repertoire which spans nine centuries and tours regularly at home and abroad; a Gospel Choir who sing a mixture of contemporary and traditional gospel styles, and a junior choir for children from Year 3 upwards.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

All Saints Fulham Tweets

